1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Useful Links for Seasteading Business

If you would like to establish a business or community on an ocean-going vessel, but have little to no maritime experience, your first port of call should probably be a ship management service.


Ship Management


Intermanager – http://www.intermanager.org/
International trade association of shipmanagement industry


V.Ships – http://www.vships.com/portal/site/shipman/
“World’s largest supplier of ship management and marine outsourcing services”


V.Ships Leisure – http://www.vshipsleisure.com/portal/site/leisure/
“Largest supplier of management and outsourcing services to the maritime leisure industry”


V.Group – http://www.vgrouplimited.com/portal/site/vships/
Parent company of V.Ships


International Shipping Partners – http://www.isp-usa.com/
Dedicated passengership manager


COLUMBIA Shipmanagement GmbH (Germany) – http://www.csm-d.com


COLUMBIA Shipmanagement Ltd. (Cyprus) – http://www.columbia-shipmanagement.com


Cruise Advance Jens Huhse – http://www.cruiseadvance.de/


Cruiseship Portal: Concessionaires & Shipmanagement Links –


Maritime Web Portals


Lloyd’s List – http://www.lloydslist.com/
“Lloyd’s List’s editorial mission is to provide information, analysis and knowledge for business decision makers in the global shipping community”


Infomarin – http://www.infomarin.info/


Maritime-Database – http://www.maritime-database.com/


Maritime Sun – http://www.maritimesun.com/
Hellenic Shipping Portal


Cruise Ship Portal – http://www.cruiseshipportal.com/


Cruise Industry News – http://www.cruiseindustrynews.com/


Ship Brokers


Association of Shipbrokers and Agents (USA) – http://www.asba.org/
“ASBA is an independent membership trade association, established in 1934, that brings together member Ship Brokers, Agents  and Affiliates with offices in the United States and Canada”


Jon I. Stie Shipbrokers A.S – http://www.stie.no
Norwegian shipbrokers and offshore marine services


Cruise Ships for Sale and Charter


Ships4ever.com – http://ships4ever.com/


Work Boats International – http://www.workboatsinternational.com/cruise-ships-for-sale.html


The Yacht Market – http://www.theyachtmarket.com/static/boattype_cruise__passenger_ship_1.html#


Ship Finance


DVB Bank – http://www.dvbbank.com/en/solutions/shipping/index.html


Nordea – http://www.nordea.com/


KfW IPEX-Bank – http://www.kfw-ipex-bank.de/ipex/en/Business_Sectors/Shipping/index.jsp


Deutsche Schiffsbank – https://www.schiffsbank.commerzbank.de/en/home_1/homepage_3.html


Credit Agricole CIB: Shipping Finance –


BNP Paribas: Shipping Finance –


Den Norske Bank: Shipping, Offshore & Logistics


HSH Nordbank: Shipping –


Marine Money – http://www.marinemoney.com/


Financial Times: Shipping News – http://www.ft.com/intl/companies/shipping


Tufton Oceanic – http://www.tuftonoceanic.com/
“Fund management firm for the maritime, energy related and the wider global transportation and infrastructure sectors”


Ship Finance Business Directories:


Legal Services


Norton Rose: Shipping http://www.nortonrose.com/expertise/shipping/


Holman Fenwick Willan: Ship Finance- http://www.hfw.com/services/ship-finance


Holman Fenwick Willan: Shipping – http://www.hfw.com/sectors/shipping


Holman Fenwick Willan: Cruise – http://www.hfw.com/sectors/travel,-cruise-and-leisure


Offshore Accommodation Vessels


Intership Ltd – http://www.barges.com/
Offshore accommodation barges


Sanderson Maritime – http://www.sandersonmaritime.com
Shallow water accommodation barges


SEATEL Offshore Hotel – http://www.seateloffshore.co.uk/


ALMACO Floating Accommodation http://www.almaco.cc/business_segments/floating_accommodation
Includes apartments, offices, shopping malls and luxury hotels


Workboats International http://www.workboatsinternational.com/accommodation-work-barge-floating-hotels-for-sale-charter.html
List of accommodation vessels for sale


Derrick Offshore – http://www.deroff.com/offshore-accommodation-units.html
“World’s leading international shipbroker specialising in the offshore energy and subsea cable industries”


Prosafe – http://www.prosafe.com/
“World’s leading owner and operator of semi-submersible accommodation and service rigs”


Floatel International – http://www.floatel.se/Home__.html
“Owns and operates two DP [dynamic positioning] semi-submersible accommodation vessels”


Equinox Offshore Accommodation Ltd – http://www.equinoxnrg.com/
Accommodation and Repair Vessel (ARV) that functions as a floating accommodation, work platform and logistics support facility


Jon I. Stie Shipbrokers A.S – http://www.stie.no/stie/vessels_for_sale/barges__1
List of basic flat-top barges


Jon I. Stie Shipbrokers A.S – http://www.stie.no/stie/positions_availabilities/flattop_barges/coastels_flotels
List of Coastels and Flotels




ALMACO – http://www.almaco.cc/
Provider of accommodation and food handling systems


V.Delta – http://www.vdelta.net/
Passengership conversion and refurbishment


Further Education


Cambridge Academy of Transport Distance Learning Courses – http://www.catz.co.uk/distance/


Interesting Ideas


Article about converting decommissioned oil rigs into offshore luxury hotels


Post on the Institute’s blog about an oil rig for sale in the North Sea


Posted on June 28, 2012 at 3:37 pm


Written by